THE BOSS by DIANA ROSS Vinyl LP ltd red colour

Regular price £24.50

pre order 

*New Release*
released on 5/3/2021


Vinyl LP





The Boss is a 1979 album released by Diana Ross on the Motown label.
This album was written and produced by longtime Ross collaborators Nickolas Ashford & Valerie Simpson and marked her return to Top 40 radio based on the strength of the title track, which peaked #19 on the pop singles chart, and #12 on the US R&B Chart.[2] In addition all the LP tracks went to #1 on the dance charts,[3] and peaked at #14 on the Billboard 200. It was certified Gold by the RIAA in late 90's.
For its 20th Anniversary, the album was remastered and released on CD in 1999 with 12" versions of "The Boss" and "It's My House" as extra tracks. The 12" versions of "I Ain't Been Licked" and "No One Gets the Prize"/"The Boss" appear on Diana: Deluxe Edition, and a rare remixed single version of "No One Gets the Prize" on The Motown Anthology - Diana Ross. Ivo Del Prado remixed the bass-heavy "Once in the Morning" which is a very difficult promotional-only to find. 6 out of 8 of the songs are now club classics.
Ross also promoted the album on her first HBO special, "Standing Room Only". The special was culled from her successful "Tour '79", and the setlist included the title song, "The Boss", "It's My House", "No One Gets the Prize", "I Ain't Been Licked" and "All For One".
 Side A
1. No One Gets the Prize
2. I Ain't Been Licked
3. All for One
4. The Boss
Side B
1. Once in the Morning
2. It's My House
3. Sparkle
4. I'm in the World