Regular price £22.50

pre order 

*New Release*
released on 16/4/2021


Vinyl LP




THERE WERE WIRES were an underground hardcore/metal band from Boston, MA, that formed in the late ’90s. They quickly gained notoriety in New England for their intense and chaotic live shows. The band played regularly throughout the early 2000s, sharing stages with prominent bands like MASTODON, CONVERGE, and THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN, along with successful tours with DAUGHTERS (Ipecac Records) and ZOMBI (Relapse Records). THERE WERE WIRES were one of the early pioneers of the doom-metal genre, and became an influential giant that would pave the way for a wave of slow, heavy music that would follow after the band’s demise. Members of THERE WERE WIRES later went on to play in DOOMRIDERS (Deathwish Inc.) and DISAPPEARER (Dark Operative). Somnambulists was THERE WERE WIRES’ sophomore release, originally released on Iodine Recordings in 2003. The record was a departure from their original fast and thrashy sound, which was dominant on their debut self-titled LP. For this release, the band worked with producer Matt Squire at Camp Street and Q-Division studios. By this time, THERE WERE WIRES had matured as song writers and constructed songs considerably longer and more intricate than anything previously written. These tracks belied much of the frenetic energy of earlier works, moving glacially at times, winding tension with extended buildups and clean vocals while still maintaining its intensity. Somnambulists was not only a dramatic departure from the punchy abruptness of their earlier sound, but a welcomed one, as well—the record was met with much acclaim from fans and critics alike. Somnambulists is a full-album experience that combines heavy, droning, and bluesy riffs with atmospheric interludes. The album follows a theme of loss, regret, sleepwalking, and darkness. Iodine Recordings is excited to present Somnambulists on vinyl for the first time ever. The album has been remastered for optimal listening and contains all-new artwork. The record also includes a previously unreleased cover of “Tunic” by SONIC YOUTH. This is Iodine Recordings’ first release in 17 years! 

1. New Doom
2. His Talk, Her Teeth
3. Walking
4. Get Cryptic
5. Waking
6. Black Magic Rabbit
7. Gasp
8. Tunic (SONIC YOUTH cover)