JUICY LUCY - LIE BACK AND ENJOY IT vinyl lp LHC 259 reissue

Regular price £25.50


vinyl lp
LHC 259


label : LONGHAIR
A1 Thinking Of My Life

A2 Built For Comfort

A3 Pretty Woman

A4 Whisky In My Jar

B1 Hello L.A. Bye Bye Birmingham

B2 Changed My Mind

B3 That Woman's Got Something

B4 Willie The Pimp

B5 Lie Back And Enjoy It

B6 I' A Thief

This is the first official re-release on vinyl under licensed courtesy of BMG Rights Management, UK, remastered from an original master copy out of the vaults of BMG. Juicy Lucy's second album 'Lie Back And Enjoy It' was released in 1970 on Vertigo. Although several members of the band had been replaced since the release of their famous first album, it was generally considered to be a respectable follow up to their eponymous debut album of the previous year. The bulk of the songs were written by the band, although the album does feature the addition of Willie Dixon's classic 'Built For Comfort' and a terrific cover of the Frank Zappa song 'Willie The Pimp'. The album peaked at number 53 in the UK Albums Chart in November 1970. If Juicy Lucy's debut album ranks among the most haunted blues-rock albums of the late 1960s, its follow-up illustrates more of the evil electrics and swamp-conscious blues that gave Juicy Lucy its most scintillating shivers. The interplay between Glenn Ross Campbell's steel and Chris Mercer's sax is as chilling as ever and songs like 'Built For Comfort,' 'Thinking Of My Life,' and the best ever cover of Frank Zappa's 'Willie The Pimp' are heavily blues based. But the band also expanded into hard rock, psychedelia and early prog. Campbell's guitar work is simply stunning and miles above anything done at the time. Williams' throaty vocals are superbly expressive, a powerhouse on his own, and all the other band members play incredibly well, turning this album into a timeless masterpiece. In many respects this album encapsulates everything that was great in music by the end of the 1960s: originality, innovation, guts and talent. Essential music for body and soul! Another critic describes it as a surprisingly excellent 1970 boogie rock album with as-good-as-it-gets sound quality. 'Mississippi Woman' and 'Whiskey In The Jar' are also very hot tracks. Interesting to compare the huge fat British sound here to the trebly weedy sound you get on many US albums around this time. It's well thought out and explosive/dynamic music. Kinda like Grand Funk Railroad meets Cocker's 'Mad Dogs' period with a bit of Creedence for those Southern overtones or think of an English incarnation of Leslie West's Mountain. The album cover is also awesome, folding out to reveal a 6xLP sized cardboard/heavy paper poster. Damned cool! The extra track 'Thief' was the B-side of single 'Pretty Woman'. The reissue comes with an exact reproduction of the original cover and a 4 page insert with band story and photos. All titles are remastered. Don't miss this great album.