Julie London - Latin In A Satin Mood (2LP 200g 45RPM) AAPP 7278-45

Regular price £87.50

pre order expected to ship from 15/03/21 [ subject to change ] 

Julie London - Latin In A Satin Mood

(2LP 200g 45RPM)

Label: Analogue Productions

Genre: Jazz

Product No.: AAPP 7278-45

UPC: 753088727870

Category: 2LP 200g 45 RPM Vinyl Record


·         Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog tapes

·         200-gram gatefold double LP, cut at 45 RPM

·         Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!



Analogue Productions has brought back Julie London sings Latin In A Satin Mood in dramatic, deserving fashion. Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, and plated and pressed on 200-gram vinyl at Quality Record Pressings, the crispness and vibrancy of this recording is spectacular. And we've cut this version at 45 RPM, meaning the 12 tracks are spread over two LPs for even better cartridge tracking for superior sound quality!


Exotic and Latin albums were big deals in the 1950s and early '60s, and singers as diverse as Dean Martin, Lena Horne, and Peggy Lee were recording with castanets and bongo drums. Like Peggy Lee, London combines a restrained vocal approach with jazz phrasing and a cool attitude with icy sex appeal on this album of relaxing Latin standards. Julie does look beautiful on the cover, and the back-up male "mariachi-esque" serenade ads to the romantic ambiance.


Speaking of the cover, expect only top-notch reproduction for our Analogue Productions reissue. Originally a single LP jacket, we've upgraded to a gatefold incorporating more original photographs provided by Universal.


London appeared in nearly two dozen motion pictures during the 1940s and '50s; she was best known to TV audiences as nurse Dixie McCall on the 1970s hospital drama "Emergency!" She was hired on "Emergency!" by Webb," her then-former spouse, to co-star with her second husband, jazz musician Bobby Troup. Troup, who composed the iconic musical hit "Route 66" played a doctor on the show and it was he who helped sign Julie to the Liberty record label.


Track Listing


1. Frenesi

2. Be Mind Tonight

3. Yours

4. Besame Mucho

5. Adios

6. Sway

7. Perfidia

8. Come Closer To Me

9. Amor

10. Magic Is The Moonlight

11. You Belong To My Heart

12. Vaya Con Dios