Hugh Masekela – Hope (2LP 200g Vinyl) Analogue Productions AAPJ 117

Regular price £80.50


Hugh Masekela – Hope

(2LP 200g Vinyl)


Label: Analogue Productions 

Genre: Jazz 

Product No: AAPJ 117


Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


  • Now on 33 1/3 as originally recorded with all 12 tracks included!
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog tape
  • Plating and 200-gram pressing by Quality Record Pressings!
  • Gatefold tip-on jacket by Stoughton Printing
  • Includes insert containing interview with David Hewitt, original recording engineer for Hope


The Analogue Productions reissue of Hugh Masekela's masterpiece Hope, now available on 33 1/3 LP. Mastering from Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio; 200-gram knock-your-socks-off silent heavyweight vinyl plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings. Stoughton Printing tip-on old-style heavyweight gatefold jacket. The ultimate.


A long-time audiophile demonstration disc, Hope will show off your system's dynamic range as well as any record ever released. Hugh Masekela, the outstanding South African trumpeter, assembled a seven-piece group and recorded this great set live at Washington, D.C.'s Blues Alley. The songs stretch over a period of nearly five decades and serve as an informal guided tour of Masekela's life. The songs are honest and bare, and as for the sound — WOW!


Unlike a prior 45 RPM version that included seven songs, this 33 1/3 reissue contains the full program as originally recorded with all 12 tracks included! Plus, as an added bonus, we've included a special insert — featuring an exclusive interview with Grammy/Emmy Award-winning engineer David Hewitt, who recorded Hope originally. 


"Hugh's record is right up near the top for a lot of reasons," Hewitt says.


Hewitt and his team were afforded the time they needed, and they pulled out all the stops to pull off what's now recognized as an all-time great recording. They used better-quality microphones, they were mic-ing the room for ambient sound, and Masekela was performing for a sophisticated and appreciative audience.


"We used stuff from our stash of mics as opposed to what you'd find typically at a jazz club. We actually had control via the record label and producers, so we could take our time. We had the ability to mic the room for ambient sound. ... you've got people that actually know and appreciate the music and respond accordingly. What you've got there is all the right stuff at the right time and the right people, and then something magical happens."


Listen to that magic unfold — put on this Analogue Productions reissue of Hope, and be transported.


Track List


1. The Abangoma (The Healers) 

  2. Uptownship 

  3. Mandela (Bring Him Back Home) 

  4. Grazing in the Grass 

  5. Lady 

  6. Until When 

  7. Languta 

  8. Nomali 

  9. Market Place 

  10. Ntyilo Ntyilo (The Love Bird) 

  11. He le Se (The Dowry Song) 

  12. Stimela [Coal Train]