Pere Ubu "The Tenement Year" Fire Records clear vinyl lp LTD / 500

Regular price £19.50

Pere Ubu "The Tenement Year" Fire Records clear vinyl lp LTD / 500

Pere Ubu’s music is a disorienting mix of midwestern groove rock, “found” sound, analog synthesizers, falling-apart song structures and careening vocals. It is a mix that has mesmerized critics, musicians, and fans for decades.

‘The Tenement Year’ is the sixth studio album by American rock band Pere Ubu, their first album after reuniting following their 1982 break-up. The album chronicles another crucial era for the band, an escapade that retooled our understanding of what pop music is and moves away from the abstract sounds of their earlier releases.

Here the band consisted of core members David Thomas, on vocals, trombone and melodeon; Allen Ravenstine on EML synthesisers and sax; Tony Maimone on bass and Scott Krauss on drums. They were joined by Jim Jones on guitar and Henry Cow drummer Chris 'Cutlery' Cutler on second drum kit.

“A classic”
- NME (Edwin Pouncey - 1988)

- Village Voice (Robert Christgau - 1988)

“It's still a band that blithely upends all that's solid and foursquare about rock.”
- New York Times (Jon Pareles - 1988)

Track List:
A1. Something's Gotta Give
A2. George Had A Hat
A3. Talk To Me
A4. Busman's Honeymoon
A5. Say Goodbye

B1. Universal Vibration
B2. Miss You
B3. Dream The Moon
B4. Rhythm King
B5. The Hollow Earth
B6. We Have The Technology