Second Layer ‎– World Of Rubber vinyl lp grey ltd numbered RSD 2020

Regular price £21.50

Second Layer ‎– World Of Rubber

Radiation Records  ‎– RRS123
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Grey
Industrial, Experimental

Post-punk duo Second Layer was formed in London in 1979 by southpaw guitarist / vocalist Adrian Borland and bassist / keyboardist Graham Bailey, who would both gain greater fame in the somewhat more mainstream act, The Sound; Borland has previously been active in Wimbledon punk trio The Outsiders, which released two albums and an EP on their own Raw Edge label before disbanding. Second Layer’s heavily synthesized and dystopian ‘cold wave’ sound first surfaced on a couple of EPs, issued on their own Tortch label, and when debut album World Of Rubber was released on Cherry Red in 1981, it was a very different beast indeed, being far more abstract, the minimal instrumentation masking occasional morbid lyrics about Black Flowers, bodies in an open grave and, on In Bits, the disintegrating personality of Borland’s protagonist; Japanese Headset subjected an unknown foreign soundtrack to stereophonic effects. Since The Sound signed with major label WEA shortly after the released of World Of Rubber, the album ended up being Second Layer’s swansong, making it all the more sought after today.

A1 Definition Of Honour
A2 In Bits
A3 Fixation
A4 Save Our Souls
A5 Distortion
A6 Skycion (Unreleased Track)
B1 Underneath The Gloss
B2 Zero
B3 Japanese Headset
B4 Black Flowers
B5 Metal Sheet (from 1979 debut single)
B6 Courts or Wars (from 1979 debut single)