Toyah Prostitute (Heavyweight Translucent Yellow Vinyl) LP DEMREC590

Regular price $27.00



Catalogue no: DEMREC590

Format: 1LP on 180g translucent yellow vinyl, in outer and inner sleeve

  • “Prostitute” (1988) is Toyah's most experimental and bold album, highlighting her oppression once married and outdated expectations long before today's woke narrative. Sonically it is also a radical departurecomprising drums, vocal and guitar meshed with a scrapbook of samples and side two closing on a locked groove. The album was written and played entirely by Toyah and Steve Sidelynk who went on to record and play live with Madonna (Ray Of Light, Music), Seal and Richard Ashcroft, amongst many others.

  • Issued on vinyl for the first time since 1988, with a new inner sleeve, the album is pressed on 180 gram translucent yellow vinyl.

Side A – Lie Down

1. Hello
2. Prostitute
3. Wife
4. The Show
5. Dream House 6. Homecraft
7. Obsession

Side B – Think Of England

1. Let The Power Bleed
2. Restless
3. Falling To Earth
4. Jazz Singers In The Trees 5. Vale Of Evesham

6. Ghosts In The Universe