Various Artists - The Sound Of The Suburbs’ vinyl lp

Regular price £19.50

Various Artists - The Sound Of The Suburbs’

 Format: 1LP

UPC: 00600753898734

Cat No: 5389873


Exclusively on vinyl, come 17 hugely influential artists and tracks that exploded from the punk phenomenon of the late 1970’s.


Essential punk classics from Siouxsie & The Banshees, Iggy Pop, The Ruts and The Members (whose anthem gives this compilation its title) are here alongside legendary new-wave tracks from The Buzzcocks, Blondie, The Skids and The Only Ones as well as the #1 ‘Rat Trap’ from The Boomtown Rats.


This period produced many amazing songwriters and interpreters which are included, namely Elvis Costello, Joe Jackson, Squeeze and Patti Smith’s performance of the Bruce Springsteen penned ‘Because The Night’.


As the ‘70s ended, The Jam and The Clash produced some of their most seminal work and the next wave of new wave artists emerged with both Adam & The Ants and The Cure completing this journey through a selection of bone-fide essential tracks that every vinyl collection should contain.


Track Listing:

Side A

1. The Jam - Going Underground

2. The Buzzcocks – Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve)

3. Siouxsie And The Banshees - Hong Kong Garden

4. Blondie - Hanging On The Telephone

5. The Boomtown Rats - Rat Trap

6. Elvis Costello & The Attractions - Oliver's Army

7. Squeeze - Cool For Cats

8. Joe Jackson - Is She Really Going Out With Him?

9. Patti Smith Group - Because The Night


Side B

1. The Clash - Bankrobber

2. The Members - The Sound Of The Suburbs

3. The Ruts - Babylon's Burning

4. Iggy Pop - Lust For Life

5. The Only Ones - Another Girl, Another Planet

6. Skids - Into The Valley

7. Adam & The Ants - Dog Eat Dog

8. The Cure - Boys Don't Cry